Layton Construction was back at the Associated Schools of Construction (ASC) competition in Reno, Nevada, last week. The ASC event is the largest construction management student competition in the nation, and this year, over 1,400 students from 49 universities and 21 states are competing.

Layton sponsors the mixed-use construction problem each year, and within only 24 hours, 10 student teams were required to respond to an RFP, which includes the preparation of a detailed schedule and an estimate for the entire project. They’re encouraged to think outside of the box and to find ways to build better and faster by using current and upcoming technologies.

Layton’s judges include Karina Smith, Jordon Gillman, Adam Rasmussen, Shaun Keep, Brandon Howell and Kyle Krutsch. HR was represented for recruiting by Ashley Hill, Jared Smith and Dan Lee.

Layton has been a competition sponsor since 2003, and some of our best employees have been recruited from the event. While BYU’s team had the best style – showing up in Aloha shirts to present on the project located in Honolulu – it was Arizona State University who pulled off the win. Montana State University took 2nd place, and Utah Valley University, last year’s winner, took 3rd.

The event’s MVP was awarded to Colorado Mesa University student Jamie Groman. “Although his team didn’t win, he was the standout star,” said Ashley Hill, Sr. HR Business Partner.

“Jamie stood out in his demeanor and knowledge of the project,” said Jordon Gillman, Preconstruction Manager. “He often looked at his teammates during the interview to encourage them to answer the questions asked. He was well-spoken and answered every question well.”

ASC at a Glance

Participating Universities – 49
Number of States – 21
Total Teams – 195
Number of Students on a Team – 1,160
Number of Alternates – 253
Number of Student Volunteers – 30
Number of Faculty Attending – 160
Number of Companies Participating in the Job Fair – 103
Number of Registered Industry Attendees – 1,199
First place – Arizona State University
Second place – Montana State University
Third Place – Utah Valley University